Hotel «Grand Hotel»

111 Kuybyshev street

Architect Mikhail Kwiatkovsky
Built in 1908-1909

Buildings of hotels are located on this site of the street Dvoryanskaya (translated as noble), Kuibyshev st. now from the late 1850's. They were repeatedly rebuilt, changed the owners, their main function was not changed. At the beginning of the twentieth century, there was the hotel "Bolshaya Tsentralnaya"owned by brothers Ivanov, from 1908 - "Grand Hotel" by merchant Nikolai Shemyakin. Today the hotel "Bristol-Zhiguli" works in the monument of architecture.

In 1908 the building was reconstructed according to the project of the Samara architect and artist Mikhail Kwiatkovsky. Eclectic construction has acquired pronounced features of Art Nouveau. The facade and interiors of the hotel are richly decorated in the spirit of the Viennese secession with a lot of stucco elements - sculptures, mascarons, floral ornaments. The abundance of decorative details in the form of flowers is a kind of signature of the architect (the word "kwiat" in Polish means a flower).

In 1909, the Grand Hotel was visited by the great Russian singer Fyodor Shalyapin. According to the memoirs of his contemporaries, the famous bass from the balcony of his room gave an impromptu concert for the audience gathered in the hotels.

In 1941-43, the building housed evacuated from Moscow The French Committee of National Liberation, the staff of the People's Commissariat for Foreign Affairs of the USSR and the foreign journalistic corps. In December 1941, local newspapers wrote about the brutal fight between American and Japanese journalists in the hotel restaurant. The pretext was the American military base attacked by the Japanese aviation.

Nearby

«Leningradskaya / Kuibysheva» field
  • Performances of street dancers in different styles.
«Three Elms square» field
  • Pleners of artists who paint the monuments of the Art Nouveau.

Гостиница «Гранд-отель»
(«Жигули»)

улица Куйбышева, 111

Архитектор Михаил Квятковский
Построен в 1908-1909 гг.

Здание гостиницы расположено на этом участке улицы Дворянской (Куйбышева) с конца 1850-х. Оно неоднократно перестраивалось, меняло владельцев, но сохранило основную функцию. В начале ХХ века здесь размещалась гостиница «Большая Центральная» братьев Ивановых, а с 1908 года - «Гранд-Отель» купца Николая Шемякина. Сегодня в памятнике архитектуры работает гостиница «Бристоль-Жигули».

В 1908 году здание было реконструировано по проекту самарского архитектора и художника Михаила Квятковского. Эклектичная постройка приобрела ярко выраженные черты модерна. Фасад и интерьеры гостиницы богато декорированы в духе венского сецессиона с большим количеством лепных элементов — скульптур, маскаронов, растительных орнаментов. Обилие декоративных деталей в виде цветов — своего рода «подпись» архитектора (слово «квят» в переводе с польского означает цветок).

В 1909 году в «Гранд-Отеле» останавливался великий русский певец Федор Шаляпин. По воспоминаниям современников, знаменитый бас с балкона своего номера дал импровизированный концерт для собравшейся у гостиницы публики.

В 1941-43 годах в здании размещались эвакуированные из Москвы Комитет национального освобождения Франции, сотрудники Народного комиссариата иностранных дел СССР и зарубежный журналистский корпус. В декабре 1941 года местные газеты писали о жестокой драке американских и японских журналистов в ресторане гостиницы. Поводом для этого послужило нападение японской авиации на американскую военную базу в Перл-Харборе.

Рядом

Площадка «Ленинградская / Куйбышева»
  • Выступления уличных танцоров в разных стилях.
Площадка «сквер Три вяза»
  • Пленэры художников, рисующих памятники эпохи модерн.