Public Assembly

157 Kuybyshev street /
1 Shostakovich street

Architect Dmitry Werner
Built in 1911-1914

The assembly of state employees and public institutions was founded in Samara in the early 1910s. Its goal was "to give its members and their families the opportunity to spend time with convenience, pleasure and profit." For this purpose, a separate building was built at the corner of Dvoryanskaya (Kuibyshev) and Pochtovaya (Shostakovich) streets. The public assembly was a kind of club. Inside there was a double-lighted hall for various kinds of events, a library and a reading room, a billiard room, rooms for card games (preference, vint, ecarte), a buffet and a dining room, facilities for the staff.

The draft of the Public Assembly belongs to Dmitry Werner. The city architect of Samara made it in the Art Nouveau style. The house has three facades, smoothly passing one into another. From Kuibyshev street there are large windows of the assembly hall with a long balcony and a forged visor on the chains, in the corner part there is an entrance group, and the facade along Shostakovich street ends with a decorative frieze and a pommel. The glazed dome over the building can be seen from all sides, making the Public Assembly an architectural and town-planning dominant of both Kuibyshev Street and Chapaev Square.

The special commission that examined the Werner project noted that the architecture of the building is relatively simple, but at the same time elegant. The ground floor of the house is finished with a rust. Werner used the same method in 1905 during the construction of the Public Library in Nizhny Novgorod. The facades of the Public Assembly are covered with yellow ceramic tile the so called "kabanchik" and green majolica. Lattices on the windows of the basement floor and fencing balconies with intricate plant forms are made according to Werner's sketches, and the decor of the frieze along Shostakovich street is decided in the form of a metallic applique.

After the revolution of 1917 the building of the Public Assembly was occupied by various institutions, and since 1975 the District Military History Museum has been operating here.

Nearby

«Museum of Art Nouveau» scene
  • DJs, electronic groups.
«Strukovsky garden» field
  • Performances of artists of street theaters.

Общественное
собрание

улица Куйбышева, 157 /Шостаковича, 1

Архитектор Дмитрий Вернер
Построен в 1914 г.

Собрание служащих казенных и общественных учреждений было основано в Самаре в начале 1910-х, чтобы «доставить своим членам и их семействам возможность проводить время с удобством, приятностью и пользой». Здание Общественного собрания было своего рода клубом. Внутри располагались большой зал для мероприятий, библиотека и читальня, комнаты для карточных игр (преферанса, винта, экарте) и бильярдная, буфет и столовая, помещения для персонала и др.

Проект Общественного собрания принадлежит Дмитрию Вернеру. Городской архитектор Самары выполнил его в стиле модерн. Дом имеет три фасада, плавно переходящих один в другой. С улицы Куйбышева выделяются большие окна актового зала с длинным балконом и кованым козырьком на цепях, в угловой части находится входная группа, а фасад по улице Шостаковича украшает декоративный элемент в виде металлической аппликации. Остекленный купол над зданием просматривается со всех сторон, делая Общественное собрание архитектурной и градостроительной доминантой как улицы Куйбышева, так и площади Чапаева.

Специальная комиссия, рассматривая проект Вернера, отмечала, что архитектура здания сравнительно проста, но в то же время изящна. Цокольный этаж дома отделан рустом. Аналогичный прием Вернер использовал в 1905 году при строительстве Публичной библиотеки в Нижнем Новгороде. Верхняя часть фасадов Общественного собрания покрыта зеленой майоликой. Решетки на окнах полуподвального этажа и ограждения балконов с замысловатыми растительными формами выполнены по эскизам Вернера.

После революции 1917 года здание Общественного собрания занимали различные учреждения, а с 1975 года здесь работает военно-исторический музей.

Рядом

Сцена «Музей Модерна»
  • Ди-джеи, электронные коллективы.
Площадка «Струковский сад»
  • Выступления артистов уличных театров.